22-27 May 2018 Le Gosier - French Caribbean (Guadeloupe)

Program > Spring School

Spring School


Correlative approaches using AFM to study the elasticity of living cells


Dr. Franck Lafont

Frank Lafont is a CNRS Senior researcher at the Lille Biology Institute located on the Lille Pasteur campus. Since 2005, he is heading the Research Team “Cellular Microbiology and Physics of Infection” (www.cmpi.cnrs.fr). His research activities are divided into two main areas, including technological developments and the use of different experimental systems to address several aspects involved in the early stages of infection. He recently developed correlative approaches between AFM force spectroscopy, super-resolution photonic and electron microscopy. Since 2010, F. Lafont is the scientific director of the BioImaging Center Lille (BICeL). Frank Lafont has published more than 60 referred publications and book chapters.





In situ Raman and NanoRaman spectroscopy: recent advances



Prof. Emmanuel Maisonhaute

Emmanuel Maisonhaute is professor of physical chemistry at Sorbonnes Universités in Paris (Laboratoire Interface et Systemes Electrochimiques, UPMC). He develops innovative instrumentations that couple electrochemistry to other techniques. Recently, his group extended Tip Enhanced Raman Spectroscopy (TERS) towards measurements in liquids. Together with the information provided by scanning probe approaches, one may now access to chemical identification at the nanometer scale. Many systems may benefit from this new method, including biological ones.



Force controlled single-cell perturbation




Dr. Tomaso Zambelli

 Tomaso Zambelli is a distinguished researcher at ETH (University of Zurich) in Switzerland. His research focuses on microfluidics and microfabrication of self-sensing microchanneled AFM probes. He is an expert and one of the inventor of the FluidFM, the first AFM. His group works on applications of the FluidFM technology for 2D patterning, 3D printing, and single-cell biology. He is a specialist in designing polyelectrolyte multilayers for electrochemical responsive coatings and liposomes for pore-spanning biomimetic lipid bilayers. He was award in 1998 the Otto-Hahn Medal of the Max-Planck-Gesellschaft.


Online user: 1